2019 Tabori Prize

Gruppenbild mit Preisträger*innen und Programmbeteiligten beim Tabori Preis 2019 auf der Bühne im HAU1. © Florian Krauß

Tabori Prize 2019: all award winners and program participants

On May 24, 2019, the Fonds Darstellende Künste presented the 2019 Tabori Prize and the Tabori Awards. With the award ceremony, the Fonds celebrated 10 years of the Tabori Prize and thus also 10 years of excellent artistic avant-garde, advanced artistic positions, experimental conceptions and formats, and the further development of a cross-genre and audience-oriented aesthetic.

The Award Winners

The 2019 Tabori Prize was awarded to the collective Monster Truck, which "realizes aesthetically highly sophisticated and at the same time divisive works that provoke and have thus long conquered a contentious stage and discourse space as 'pioneers' of a currently much-discussed performative concept of diversity," according to the jury.

The 2019 Tabori Awards were presented to the Ben J. Riepe Company "for its choreographic upheavals and departures on stages, in museums and streets, through which it has achieved an outstanding position in dance" and machina eX "for making virtual worlds experienceable in the reality of stage performance".

The Award Ceremony

Never before has an award ceremony so clearly depicted the diversity of the independent performing arts as this anniversary edition did. The program of the evening was designed by the former prize winners LIGNA (prize winners 2017), the puppet theater Wilde & Vogel (prize winners 2013), kainkollektiv (prize winners 2015), copy & waste (prize winners 2018), Gintersdorfer/Klaßen (prize winners 2010), and the theater Thikwa. In addition, there were video retrospectives of the 20 award winning groups of the last 10 years and thus also of the development of the independent performing arts.

Professor Monika Grütters, Member of the German Bundestag and Minister of State for Culture and Media, gave the evening’s welcoming speech. She emphasized: "For 10 years now, the Tabori Prize has honored the outstanding importance of the independent performing arts within the German dance and theater landscape. The award-winning ensembles and artists represent the innovative, experimental and courageous creative power of the independent scene. With this award, we want to once again draw greater attention to this social avantgarde. Not least, the reputation of the Tabori Prize has contributed to the independent houses being perceived on an equal footing with the municipal and state theaters as essential components of the dance and theater landscape."

The jury statements were read by the members of the expert jury Sabine Gehm (Tanz Bremen), Martina Grohmann (Theater Rampe, Stuttgart) and Carena Schlewitt (Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, Dresden). The laudatory speech for the winners, Monster Truck, was held by Christoph Gurk (curator, dramaturge and member of the artistic management team at the Münchner Kammerspiele).

2019 Award Jury