2016 George Tabori Prize

Close together, about 20 people stand in a row on a stage and look into the audience. Some hold gladioli in their arms. © Florian Krauss

Award Winners, Jurors and Program Participants of the Tabori Award Ceremony 2016

On May 29, 2016, the Fonds Darstellende Künste awarded the George Tabori Prize for the 7th time. Once again, it honored two artistic expressions of particular brilliance with the most distinguished national award for ensembles and artists from the independent theater scene.

The Award Winners

The jury of experts awarded the main prize, endowed with €20,000, to the Hamburg-based dance company Antje Pfundtner in Gesellschaft, whose choreographer Antje Pfundtner, according to the jury's statement, "has distinguished herself for many years as one of the outstanding dance personalities of the Republic through the continuously high quality of her dance theater productions". The laudatory speech was given by dance expert Madeline Ritter.

Transforming the theater space into a "safe and at the same time light and cheerful framework within which various options for action and roles can be playfully tried out and renegotiated together with others" – for this "genuinely new position in local children's theater" the jury honored the Bonn performance group pulk fiktion with the €10,000 incentive award. The laudatory speech was given by Prof. Wolfgang Schneider, Director of the Institut für Kulturpolitik at the University of Hildesheim.

The Award Ceremony

The event was rounded off with a welcoming by Berlin's State Secretary for Cultural Affairs Tim Renner and a keynote speech by artist Veit Sprenger, of the performance collective Showcase Beat Le Mot, on the development of independent theater culture from the 1980s to the present. Artistically, the evening was enriched by a solo performance by dancer Ahmed Soura from the production "Hauptrolle" by choreographer Christoph Winkler. The musical framework of the evening was provided by the Berlin band il Civetto with its special mixture of Balkan music, folk, swing and oriental sounds.

2016 Award Jury